Drue Heinz Literature Prize

Literature PrizeDeadline:  6/30/17
Prize:  $15,000
Entry Fee: None

The Drue Heinz Literature Prize offers a prize of $15,000 and publication by University of Pittsburgh Press is given annually for a collection of short fiction. Writers who have published at least one previous book of fiction or a minimum of three short stories or novellas in nationally distributed magazines or literary journals are eligible. Submit a manuscript of 150 to 300 pages between May 1 and June 30. There is no entry fee. Visit the website for complete guidelines.

University of Pittsburgh Press, Drue Heinz Literature Prize, 7500 Thomas Boulevard, 4th Floor, Pittsburgh, PA 15260.

The Drue Heinz Literature Prize Call for Submissions 2018

The University of Pittsburgh Press announces the 2018 Drue Heinz Literature Prize for a collection of short fiction. The prize carries a cash award of $15,000 and publication by the University of Pittsburgh Press under its standard contract. The winner will be announced in December or January. No information about the winner will be released before the official announcement. The volume of manuscripts prevents the Press from offering critiques or entering into communication or correspondence about manuscripts. Please do not call or e-mail the Press.



The award is open to writers who have published a novel or a book-length collection of fiction with a reputable book publisher, or a minimum of three short stories or novellas in magazines or journals of national distribution. Digital-only publication and self-publication do not count toward this requirement.


The award is open to writers in English, whether or not they are citizens of the United States.


University of Pittsburgh employees, former employees, current students, and those who have been students within the last three years are not eligible for the award.


Translations are not eligible if the translation was not done by the author.


Eligible submissions include an unpublished manuscript of short stories; two or more novellas (a novella may comprise a maximum of 130 double-spaced typed pages); or a combination of one or more novellas and short stories. Novellas are only accepted as part of a larger collection. Manuscripts may be no fewer than 150 and no more than 300 pages. Prior publication of your manuscript as a whole in any format (including electronic) makes it ineligible.


Stories or novellas previously published in magazines or journals or in book form as part of an anthology are eligible.


Manuscripts may also be under consideration by other publishers, but if a manuscript is accepted for publication elsewhere and you wish to accept this offer, please notify the Press immediately. Manuscripts under contract elsewhere are no longer eligible for the Prize.


Authors may submit more than one manuscript to the competition as long as one manuscript or a portion thereof does not duplicate material submitted in another manuscript.

Dates for Submission

Manuscripts must be received during May and June 2017. That is, they must be postmarked on or after May 1 and on or before June 30.

Format for Electronic Submissions


During the submission period (May 1 – June 30) simply click the link below. You’ll be taken to our secure submittable.com web page where you’ll find easy-to-follow instructions:


Manuscripts must be double-spaced and pages must be numbered consecutively.


Each submission must include a list of all of the writer’s published short fiction work, with full citations. You will be given an opportunity to enter this information into a field in Submittable.


Manuscripts will be judged anonymously. Therefore, the author’s name, other identifying information, and publication information must not appear within the manuscript. Only your uploaded manuscript is visible to the judges.


Format for Mail-In Submissions


Manuscripts must be double-spaced on quality white paper, unbound, and pages must be numbered consecutively. Clean, legible photocopies on high quality white paper are acceptable.


Manuscripts will be judged anonymously. Each manuscript should have two cover pages: one listing the title of the manuscript and the author’s name, address, e-mail address (if available), and telephone number; and a second listing only the manuscript title. The author’s name, other identifying information, and publication information must not appear after the first cover page.


Manuscripts will not be returned. For results, please send a self-addressed stamped postcard.

Send submissions to:
Drue Heinz Literature Prize
University of Pittsburgh Press
7500 Thomas Blvd.
Pittsburgh, PA 15260

All submissions must be postmarked on or after May 1 and on or before June 30.

Note: 15260 is the correct and exclusive zip code for the University of Pittsburgh and the Press. For UPS, FedEx, etc., zip code 15208 should be used.

If you have any questions about these guidelines, please e-mail info@upress.pitt.edu


YEAR Author Title (books in print are linked) Senior Judge
2017 William Wall The Islands David Gates
2016 Melissa Yancy Dog Years Richard Russo
2015 Leslie Pietrzyk This Angel on My Chest Jill McCorkle
2014 Kent Nelson The Spirit Bird: Short Stories David Guterson
2013 Anthony Wallace The Old Priest Amy Hempel
2012 Beth Bosworth The Source of Life and Other Stories Sven Birkerts
2011 Shannon Cain The Necessity of Certain Behaviors Alice Mattison
2010 Tina May Hall The Physics of Imaginary Objects Renata Adler
2009 Anne Sanow Triple Time Ann Patchett
2008 Anthony Varallo Out Loud Scott Turow
2007 Kirk Nesset Paradise Road Hilary Masters
2006 Todd James Pierce Newsworld Joan Didion
2005 David Harris Ebenbach Between Camelots Stewart O’Nan
2004 Darrell Spencer Bring Your Legs with You Michael Chabon
2003 Suzanne Greenberg Speed-Walk and Other Stories Rick Moody
2002 John Blair American Standard Elizabeth Hardwick
2001 Brett Ellen Block Destination Known C. Michael Curtis
2000 Adria Bernardi In the Gathering Woods Frank Conroy
1999 Lucy Honig The Truly Needy and Other Stories Charles Johnson
1998 Barbara Croft Necessary Fictions Bharati Mukherjee
1997 Katherine Vaz Fado and Other Stories George Garrett
1996 Edith Pearlman Vaquita and Other Stories Rosellen Brown
1995 Geoffrey Becker Dangerous Men Charles Baxter
1994 Jennifer Cornell Departures Alice McDermott
1993 Stewart O’Nan In The Walled City Tobias Wolff
1992 Jane McCafferty Director of the World and Other Stories John Edgar Wideman
1991 Elizabeth Graver Have You Seen Me? Richard Ford
1990 Rick Hillis Limbo River Russell Banks
1989 Maya Sonenberg Cartographies Robert Coover
1988 Reginald McKnight Moustapha’s Eclipse Margaret Atwood
1987 Ellen Hunnicutt In the Music Library Nadine Gordimer
1986 Rick DeMarinis Under The Wheat Alison Lurie
1985 W. D. Wetherell The Man Who Loved Levittown Max Apple
1984 Randall Silvis The Luckiest Man in the World Joyce Carol Oates
1983 Jonathan Penner Private Parties Wright Morris
1982 Robley Wilson Dancing for Men Raymond Carver
1981 David Bosworth The Death of Descartes Robert Penn Warren

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *